The power of thoughts over me is incredible.
Right now it is trying to stop me from going to a commitment. Its persuasive tongue moves, flicks suggestively.
That’s all it is, suggestive. It doesn’t even need to list out concrete ways in which things can go wrong; all it needs is a vague scenario, an emotion, which makes it all the more powerful.
Emotions are powerful to me. All it takes is one night of interrupted sleep, and my brain goes haywire in its misjudgements of how things can go- even if they have been perfectly normal, even great, before- freezing me in sudden, irrational self-loathing. The idea that since I’m a frozen piece of meat loaf, perhaps the best thing I could drive myself to do was to turn the meat loaf into a piece of dead meat loaf fertiliser. 
Of course, that is not true. There will only more grief, not joy, for others to consume.
I have a demon in my head. A black dog sounds too demure. Which name is better?

Leave a comment